We live and breathe words.
stxrybooks:

I can’t wait any longer!


THIS IS SO EXCITING

stxrybooks:

I can’t wait any longer!

THIS IS SO EXCITING

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch - Review.

Book Description:

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own. 

Review:
I received an ARC of Snow Like Ashes from the publisher via eldeweiss in exchange for an honest review.

I’m gonna start this review by saying this: I have no doubt that this series is going to be the next big hit. Sara Raasch made me go through a roller coaster of emotions while reading Snow Like Ashes and I can’t wait to read the next two books in the trilogy. 

Orphaned when she was just a baby, Meira grew up knowing this: her home kingdom, Winter, was taken away from their people 16 years ago by an evil king and the only hope for them lies on her and seven other refugees, among them the future king of Winter and her best friend, whom she’s hopelessly in love with, Mather.

Meira aches to prove herself, to do something meaningful for Winter, the Kingdom she never had a chance to really know, and for Mather. When that chance finally comes, Meira sets off a chain of events that will forever change not only her life, but everyone else’s as well.

At first I was a bit overwhelmed trying to understand the world Raasch created: so many kingdoms, kings, queens, fallouts. It’s quite the fantasy history lesson. Once I got the hang of it, I was in awe of the story, how it progressed and how the author managed to write such an action packed book. I lost count of how many times I told myself “okay, this is it, this is the big thing in the story”. 

Fans of books like Throne of Glass and Game of Thrones (deep breaths, this one isn’t as hard on the feels, at least not yet) will surely fall in love with Snow Like Ashes, like I did.

Rate: 4.5 stars.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch - Review.

Book Description:

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Review:

I received an ARC of Snow Like Ashes from the publisher via eldeweiss in exchange for an honest review.

I’m gonna start this review by saying this: I have no doubt that this series is going to be the next big hit. Sara Raasch made me go through a roller coaster of emotions while reading Snow Like Ashes and I can’t wait to read the next two books in the trilogy.

Orphaned when she was just a baby, Meira grew up knowing this: her home kingdom, Winter, was taken away from their people 16 years ago by an evil king and the only hope for them lies on her and seven other refugees, among them the future king of Winter and her best friend, whom she’s hopelessly in love with, Mather.

Meira aches to prove herself, to do something meaningful for Winter, the Kingdom she never had a chance to really know, and for Mather. When that chance finally comes, Meira sets off a chain of events that will forever change not only her life, but everyone else’s as well.

At first I was a bit overwhelmed trying to understand the world Raasch created: so many kingdoms, kings, queens, fallouts. It’s quite the fantasy history lesson. Once I got the hang of it, I was in awe of the story, how it progressed and how the author managed to write such an action packed book. I lost count of how many times I told myself “okay, this is it, this is the big thing in the story”.

Fans of books like Throne of Glass and Game of Thrones (deep breaths, this one isn’t as hard on the feels, at least not yet) will surely fall in love with Snow Like Ashes, like I did.

Rate: 4.5 stars.

heylilyhilily:

I WILL NEVER NOT REBLOG THIS.

Why you already have read the snow like ashes?
Anonymous

I got an ARC for it and I’m supposed to write a review for the publisher once it finish it :) I have 15% left!

THERON YOU IDIOT WHAT ARE YOU DOING THERE

sararaasch:

ifreakinlovebooks:

Reading Snow Like Ashes and I’m like “okay this is the worst case scenario” but I’ve must have told myself this about 10 times and I still have 21% of the book left! This is not going to end well.

Muahahahahahaha

You guys better watch out for sararaasch she may seem nice but she’s one of the evil ones brace yourselves

ifreakinlovebooks:

OMG OMG OMG I KNEW IT I FUCKING KNEW IT OMGGGGGGG IM FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW WELL PLAYED SARA

I CANT EVEN CONTINUE TO READ IT RIGHT NOW IM SO WORKED UP OMG IM TELLING YOU ALL THIS TRILOGY IS GOING TO BE THE NEXT BIG THING YOU DONT UNDERSTAND OMG IM DYING

I really really want to read Snow Like Ashes because it sounds amazing, but I just want your opinion on it first lol. Is it worth buying?

YOU DONT UNDERSTAND JUST HOW MUCH IT IS WORTH BUYING GO PRE ORDER IT LIKE RIGHT NOW RIGHT NOWWWWWWWW

OMG OMG OMG I KNEW IT I FUCKING KNEW IT OMGGGGGGG IM FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW WELL PLAYED SARA

readaroundtherosie:

Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang 
Released on: September 9th 2014 

[Goodreads Link]

I loved this book. 

This is the story of Liz, a young girl who is so full of guilt and self-hatred because of the way she has bullied and treated others in the past, that she decides to attempt suicide; the story of her best friends, Kennie and Julia, and how their friendships came to be. 

This is the story of a mother who doesn’t know how to be a mother; the story of a person who should hate Liz but absolutely doesn’t. 

It’s a story of broken teens, broken hearts, love, friendship, betrayal, and how life keeps moving forward, even when your world has stopped spinning.

Characters:
The characters were so well rounded and complex. These are characters we are usually told to hate and see in a negative light, and while Zhang doesn’t tell us to love them or hate them, she gives us their full story and you can’t help but have your heart break for them. 

Writing Style:
The way the story falls together piece by piece and chapter by chapter keeps you flipping pages. The way Zhang strings together sentences is just so lovely. 

General Comments:
There isn’t a single thing I didn’t love about Falling Into Place. Right from the beginning I was caught and wanted to keep reading. I only put it down when I absolutely had to. I just want to pass this book around to everyone, and I can’t wait to get my hands on a physical copy. 

Overall Rating: 
5/5

Reading Snow Like Ashes and I’m like “okay this is the worst case scenario” but I’ve must have told myself this about 10 times and I still have 21% of the book left! This is not going to end well.

Favourite boys from books? :)
Anonymous

Will Herondale, Augustus Waters, Adrian Ivashkov, Peeta Mellark, Sam Courtland, Cricket Bell, Sam Roth, Aaron Warner… And I’m sure I’m forgetting about many more. It’s a complicated question, anon! Those are the ones I’m in love with. But my all time favorite remains Harry Potter, I just don’t have a crush on him :P (I’m not sure whether you meant boys I have a crush on or just really like as characters)